For Writers

Unearthing your Story This is for the plotters in the group.  Pantsers, scroll down quick before you break out in hives.

For me, the discovery process is all about play.
I create a soundtrack to help me get to know my characters, to write a scene, and to jump immediately into the mood of the piece I am creating.
I also create a collage to help me visualize my characters, and to world build.

If you are looking to discover your story, I learned the discovery process from a wonderful teacher, Lani Diane Rich.  http://storywonk.com/

http://www.barbarasamuel.com/for-writers
http://terribleminds.com/ramble/blog/

* * *

Some days writing comes easy and you can’t get the words down on paper fast enough, but for those other days a bit of inspiration can be a lifeboat for your creativity.

Craft/ Inspirational Books on Writing:
Elizabeth George-Write Away
Stephen King-On Writing
Noah Lukeman-The First Five Pages
Linda Seger-Making a Good Script Great
Christopher Vogler-The Writer’s Journey
Debra Dixon-GMC
David Bayles & Ted Orland-Art & Fear
Betsy Lerner-The Forest for the Trees
Anne Lamott-Bird by Bird
Natalie Goldberg-Writing Down the Bones

Author Websites
I love the unique slants that writers bring to their work and reading in and outside of the genre I write in. Below is a tiny sampling of the writers who inspire me.

Judy Blume http://judyblume.com
Patricia Briggs http://www.patriciabriggs.com/
Jim Butcher http://www.jim-butcher.com/
Stacy Verdick Case http://www.stacyverdickcase.com
Catherine Coulter http://www.catherinecoulter.com/
Jennifer Crusie http://www.jennycrusie.com
Mark Gatiss & Steven Moffat http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b018ttws/features/about
Neil Gaiman http://www.neilgaiman.com
Kim Harrison http://www.kimharrison.net
Stephen King http://stephenking.com/index.html
Barbara Kingsolver http://www.kingsolver.com/
Dean Koontz http://www.deankoontz.com/
Jayne Ann Krentz http://krentz-quick.com/
Anne Lamott http://barclayagency.com/lamott.html
Terry Pratchett http://www.terrypratchett.co.uk
Lani Diane Rich http://lanidianerich.com
Karen Robards http://karenrobards.com
Chuck Wendig http://terribleminds.com

2 thoughts on “For Writers

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s